RSS Feed

“To be a learner means to challenge myself to do things that I could not do before in order to improve myself as a student and also as a human being. I believe that true learners do not shun their areas of weakness but instead embrace them as opportunities to further improve themselves. True learners to me are people that make a lot of mistakes but always learn something new from their mistakes and work to teach these newfound lessons to the people around them. I believe in these lessons because I wasn’t always an excellent student and I’ve made a lot of mistakes in my academic life. I was the mediocre kind of student back in my middle school days, getting Ds and Cs and even running the risk of being kicked out of my honors English class for not being able to live up to expectations. These experiences have really helped me to get my act together in high school and to be the best that I can be. I believe that true learners are not people that learn things but also teach them to others. I believe that true learners are people that always strive for something better and that never stop pursuing their goals. I believe that true learners work to treat each other equally. I believe that true learners strive to learn something new from every single experience that they face even if those experiences are outside of school and I believe that all of my fellow classmates, teachers, friends and I are all true learners who will never stop learning.”
–Oscar K.

One response »

  1. Mercedes Worsfold

    I really connected with your passage. It made me think that there is more people out there that are struggling and going through the same obstacles as me. I was really inspired by your passage and made me really think and want to push myself the way you said to be a greater learner. I absolutely loved your writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

